clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Thirteen FC Dallas Players Available for Selection for 2021 MLS All-Star Game

The fan vote begins today for this year’s All-Star Game.

MLS: New England Revolution at FC Dallas Jerome Miron-USA TODAY Sports

Major League Soccer today unveiled a wide-ranging and detailed selection process for the 2021 MLS All-Star Game presented by Target which includes participation by the fans, players and media.

FC Dallas has 13 players available for selection: goalkeeper Jimmy Maurer, defenders Bressan, Ryan Hollingshead, José Martínez, Eddie Munjoma and John Nelson, midfielders Bryan Acosta, Paxton Pomykal and Andrés Ricaurte, and wingers/forwards Franco Jara, Jáder Obrian, Ricardo Pepi and Freddy Vargas.

Players, fans and reporters will cast their votes for 11 players: one goalkeeper, one right back, two center backs, one left back, one defensive midfielder, two attacking midfielders, three forwards/wingers. The top players in each position from the combined vote will be named All-Stars. The 12th player honored will be the one with the next-highest amount of votes overall.

To qualify for the ballot, players must have appeared in at least 50 percent of matches this season at the time the ballot was created on July 10. Players who did not qualify for the ballot are still eligible for selection by Bradley or Commissioner Garber.