clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

FC Dallas Protected Players list of Tuesday’s 2020 MLS Expansion Draft

No real shockers here as only five left unprotected.

Houston Dynamo v FC Dallas Photo by Omar Vega/Getty Images

The MLS Expansion Draft for Austin FC is set for tomorrow afternoon and each of the clubs have revealed their protection lists ahead of that event today.

FC Dallas’ list reveals a couple items including how two players graduated out of the MLS Generation adidas program, resulting in protection for one of them.

FC Dallas Expansion Draft List

Protected (12): Bryan Acosta, Michael Barrios, Bressan, Matt Hedges, Ryan Hollingshead, Franco Jara, Jimmy Maurer, Phelipe Megiolaro, Fafa Picault, Andrés Ricaurte, Thiago Santos and Ema Twumasi.

Automatically Protected Players (12): Edwin Cerrillo, Justin Che, Jesús Ferreira, Eddie Munjoma, John Nelson, Ricardo Pepi, Paxton Pomykal, Bryan Reynolds, Thomas Roberts, Dante Sealy, Brandon Servania and Tanner Tessmann.

Available for selection (5): Francis Atuahene, Nkosi Burgess, Santiago Mosquera, Reto Ziegler and Kyle Zobeck.

So yeah, just five left unprotected, we had previously thought it could just be four players as we didn’t know the GA status for Twumasi or Atuahene going into this. By all means, this came down to protecting Twumasi over Burgess.

Atlanta United, FC Cincinnati, Columbus Crew SC, Sporting Kansas City, Los Angeles Football Club, Minnesota United FC, New England Revolution, New York City FC, Portland Timbers and Seattle Sounders FC are exempt from the 2020 Expansion Draft because they had players selected by Inter Miami CF and Nashville SC during the 2019 MLS Expansion Draft.

Austin FC will receive an additional sum of General Allocation Money as compensation for 10 exempt teams, protected Homegrown players, and the twelve protected players per team in the MLS Expansion Draft. Should FC Dallas have a player claimed from their unprotected roster, they’ll receive $50,000 in General Allocation Money for the selection.