clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Matt Hedges and Paxton Pomykal named to 2019 MLS All-Star Game roster

Pomykal added to the roster via Commissioner Don Garber’s selection.

MLS: Seattle Sounders at FC Dallas Jerome Miron-USA TODAY Sports

The 2019 MLS All-Star Game roster has been announced this morning and FC Dallas will see two of their own in the annual game as Matt Hedges and Paxton Pomykal were named to the 26-man roster.

The FCD duo will join a stacked roster that will face 10-time La Liga champions Atlético de Madrid at Exploria Stadium in Orlando on Wednesday, July 31.

Hedges earns the call as a selection by All-Star manager James O’Connor while Pomykal earned one of two selections by MLS commissioner Don Garber.

This selection is Hedges’ third straight as he played for the MLS side in both the 2017 and 2018 games. He has started 16 of Dallas 17 matches this season, helping the club to a current fourth place standing in the Western Conference.

Pomykal has had a breakout 2019 season, serving as the main cog in the FC Dallas midfield. First signed to a Homegrown Player contract at the age of 15, the academy product has two goals and one assist this season in eight starts.

2019 MLS All-Star Game Roster by Position

Goalkeepers: Andre Blake* (Philadelphia Union), Brad Guzan^ (Atlanta United), Nick Rimando# (Real Salt Lake)

Defenders: Matt Hedges* (FC Dallas), Kemar Lawrence* (New York Red Bulls), Romain Métanire* (Minnesota United FC), Leandro González Pírez^ (Atlanta United), Bastian Schweinsteiger* (Chicago Fire), Walker Zimmerman^ (Los Angeles Football Club), Graham Zusi^ (Sporting Kansas City)

Midfielders: Ezequiel Barco^ (Atlanta United), Diego Chara* (Portland Timbers), Jonathan dos Santos^ (LA Galaxy), Mark-Anthony Kaye* (Los Angeles Football Club), Nicolás Lodeiro*(Seattle Sounders FC), GonzaloPity” Martínez^ (Atlanta United), Maxi Moralez* (NYCFC),Nani^ (Orlando City SC), Paxton Pomykal# (FC Dallas), Alejandro Pozuelo* (Toronto FC), Diego Rossi* (Los Angeles Football Club)

Forwards: Zlatan Ibrahimović^ (LA Galaxy – EA SPORTS™ “More Than a Vote” Challenge),Josef Martínez* (Atlanta United), Wayne Rooney^ (D.C. United), Chris Wondolowski* (San Jose Earthquakes), Carlos Vela^ (Los Angeles Football Club)

^Fan XI selection

*James O’Connor selection

#Commissioner Don Garber selection