clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Three FC Dallas players listed on USMNT Gold Cup Preliminary Roster

The newly re-signed Mexican-American goalkeeper gets the call-up.

FC Dallas v Toronto FC Photo by Vaughn Ridley/Getty Images

Saturday was one extradentary day for FC Dallas. Fans witnessed their side demolish Real Salt Lake 6-2 and see club stars Kellyn Acosta and Matt Hedges make appearances in the United States Men’s National Team draw against Venezuela. But, the good news didn’t end there.

During halftime of USMNT vs. Venezuela, Fox Soccer along with Stu Holden announced their preliminary roster for the upcoming CONCACAF Gold Cup. The roster included regular veterans such as Michael Bradley and Clint Dempsey but also featured a few surprises.

To begin, FC Dallas, supposed “future Mexican International,” goalkeeper Jesse Gonzalez made the squad list. Jesse will be joining fellow teammates Hedges and Acosta this summer but a notable exclusion is Walker Zimmerman. The young Dallas center back previously featured under Bruce Arena for the national team, however, it seems as if his time with the U.S. Soccer is on hold.

Other notable features are Sporting Kansas City’s Dom Dwyer, who recently earned his U.S. citizenship, and Kenny Saief, an Israeli-American who currently plays in Belgium for Gent.

Here is the full roster:

GOALKEEPERS (6): Joe Bendik (Orlando City SC), Jesse Gonzalez (FC Dallas), Brad Guzan (Atlanta United FC), Bill Hamid (D.C. United), Tim Howard (Colorado Rapids), Sean Johnson (New York City FC)

DEFENDERS (12): Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), Steve Birnbaum (D.C. United), Greg Garza (Atlanta United FC), Omar Gonzalez (Pachuca/MEX), Matt Hedges (FC Dallas), Eric Lichaj (Nottingham Forest/ENG), Matt Miazga (Chelsea/ENG), Justin Morrow (Toronto FC/CAN), Matt Polster (Chicago Fire), Jonathan Spector (Orlando City SC), Jorge Villafaña (Santos Laguna/MEX), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

MIDFIELDERS (15): Paul Arriola (Club Tijuana/MEX), Alejandro Bedoya (Philadelphia Union), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC/CAN), Joe Corona (Club Tijuana/MEX), Dax McCarty (Chicago Fire), Tommy McNamara (New York City FC), Darlington Nagbe (Portland Timbers), Kellyn Acosta (FC Dallas), Chris Pontius (Philadelphia Union), Christian Pulisic (Borussia Dortmund/GER), Cristian Roldan (Seattle Sounders FC), Kelyn Rowe (New England Revolution), Kenny Saief (Gent/BEL), Wil Trapp (Columbus Crew SC), Gyasi Zardes (LA Galaxy)

FORWARDS (7): Juan Agudelo (New England Revolution), Jozy Altidore (Toronto FC/CAN), Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC), Dom Dwyer (Sporting Kansas City), Jordan Morris (Seattle Sounders FC), C.J. Sapong (Philadelphia Union), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)