clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Kellyn Acosta and Matt Hedges highlight United States Gold Cup roster

New, 1 comment

FC Dallas’ two American stars make their country’s tournament roster.

Trinidad & Tobago v United States - FIFA 2018 World Cup Qualifier Photo by Matthew Stockman/Getty Images

US Soccer and head coach Bruce Arena has announced the 23-player roster for the United States Men’s National Team upcoming 2017 CONCACAF Gold Cup. The roster is primarily composed of MLS players with a few England and Mexico-based players thrown in.

FC Dallas fans can rejoice as stars Kellyn Acosta and Matt Hedges have earned spots on the roster. Acosta, who has become a consistent team member with the US, has made eight appearances and will hope to grow that tally. Matt Hedges, who has primarily remained on the bench while under Arena, will hope to be given adequate playing time this summer as he stands as one of the better and only center backs on the roster.

Notable standouts include two FC Dallas players who frequently flirt with making the roster. Defender Walker Zimmerman was likely excluded due to his current injury while Jesse Gonzalez’s absence is due to his 1-time switch paperwork taking a while to be approved, per Jeff Carlisle.

Notable additions include Kenny Saief (Israel) and Dom Dwyer (England), who both recently acquired the rights to switch their nationalities. Seattle Sounders’ Cristian Roldan and the New England Revolution’s Kelyn Rowe will have the opportunity to make their USMNT debut.

U.S. ROSTER BY POSITION (Club; Caps/Goals)

GOALKEEPERS (3): Brad Guzan (Atlanta United FC; 54/0), Bill Hamid (D.C. United; 2/0), Sean Johnson (New York City FC; 5/0)

DEFENDERS (8): Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City; 39/1), Omar Gonzalez (Pachuca/MEX; 39/1), Matt Hedges (FC Dallas; 2/0), Eric Lichaj (Nottingham Forest/ENG; 11/0), Matt Miazga (Chelsea/ENG; 2/0), Justin Morrow (Toronto FC/CAN; 1/0), Jorge Villafaña (Santos Laguna, MEX; 6/0), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City; 47/5)

MIDFIELDERS (9): Kellyn Acosta (FC Dallas; 8/0), Paul Arriola (Club Tijuana/MEX; 5/2), Alejandro Bedoya (Philadelphia Union; 60/2), Joe Corona (Club Tijuana/MEX; 17/2), Dax McCarty (Chicago Fire; 6/0), Cristian Roldan (Seattle Sounders FC; 0/0), Kelyn Rowe (New England Revolution; 0/0), Kenny Saief (Gent/BEL; 0/0), Gyasi Zardes (LA Galaxy; 31/7)

FORWARDS (3): Juan Agudelo (New England Revolution; 23/3), Dom Dwyer (Sporting Kansas City; 0/0), Jordan Morris (Seattle Sounders FC; 15/2)