clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

CONCACAF Notebook: Fall Tournament Draw

The first matches for the new CCL format announced.

Last year, CONCACAF announced a completely new format for the Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League. It would eliminate the Group stage, and expand the field from 24 teams to 31 teams.

The CCL has been divided into two separate two-legged knockout tournaments. The (Fall Tournament ) CONCACAF League, which features only teams from Central America and the Carribean, and The (Spring Tournament) CONCACAF Champions League, which features four MLS teams, four Liga MX teams, the Caribean champions, six champions from other CONCACAF nations, and the winner of The (Fall Tournament) CONCACAF League.

Wednesday night, CONCACAF held the draw for The CONCACAF League:

The series are numbered 1 thru 8, with the winners of the odd-numbered series, set to host the winners of the even- numbered series. It will look like this: 1 vs. 2, 3 vs. 4, 5 vs 6, and 7 vs. 8.

The semifinalists will be ranked based on their performance in the first 2 rounds. They will then play 1 vs. 4 and 2 vs. 3, with the highest advancing seed hosting the lower seed in the final series.

The winner of CONCACAF League will join FC Dallas in the CONCACAF Champions League next Spring. Almost all the teams for The CONCACAF Champions League have completed qualifying:

1. FC Dallas [USA]
2. Colorado Rapids [USA]
3. New York Red Bulls [USA]
4. Tigres UANL [MEX]
5. Club América [MEX]
6. Seattle Sounders [USA]
7. Deportivo Saprissa [CRC1]
8. Club Tijuana [MEX]
9. Motagua [HON1]
10. Herediano [CRC2]
11. Santa Tecla [SLV1]
12. Chivas de Guadalajara [MEX]
13. Cibao FC (DOM) [CFU1]
14. Tauro FC [PAN1]
15. Canadian Champion
16. CONCACAF League Champion

Guatemala will not partake in either tournament. Teams from Guatemala are barred from FIFA, due to failure to enact FIFA mandated reforms.