clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Dallas Cup: FC Dallas advances to the finals after thrilling 2-1 win over Coritiba

U-18, U-15 and U-13 Academy teams all qualify for Dallas Cup Finals

FC Dallas/Jessica Tobias

The 2017 Dallas Cup is going very well for FC Dallas as they are sending several teams to the finals in their respective groups. None may be bigger than the U-18s advancing to the Gordon Jago Super Group.

The U-18s advanced to their first Super Group finals last night with a big 2-1 win over two-time Super Group champion Coritiba from Brazil. Dallas got goals from Homegrown signings Jesus Ferreira and Paxton Pomykal to help seal the big win.

Both sides traded clean sheets in the first half as neither were able to get any good clean chances on goal. As the second half wore on, the momentum began going in Dallas’ direction. In the 80th minute, Ferreira put Dallas on the board for the first time in the match with a great goal that saw him chest the ball at the top of the box and then patiently wait for a chance before firing off a shot to the far post.

Coritiba responded moments later in the 87th minute as Romeu de Resende sent a curling free kick over the FC Dallas wall and into the back of the net.

Sixty seconds later Dallas regrouped and found the back of the net again as Ferreira chipped a ball into the box where Pomykal was able to run on to it and slide a ball into the far post for the game winner.

Ferreira’s goal and assist in the match brings his total to three of each on the week. He’s had a hand in six of the eight Dallas goals in the tournament.

Dallas will meet Monterrey again, a team they drew 1-1 during the group stage of the tournament. Should FCD win, they will become the first MLS side to win the Dallas Cup Super Group.

Both the U-13 and U-15 Academy teams will play on Saturday for the title in the U-14 and U-16 age brackets, respectively.

The U-15s will face FC Boulder at 3 p.m. inside Toyota Stadium for tournament championship.

The U-13s will face Queretaro FC at 1:00 p.m. in the stadium.