clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Three FC Dallas players called in to United States National Team Camp

These are the first international call ups of 2017.

MLS: Orlando City SC at FC Dallas Jerome Miron-USA TODAY Sports

New United States men’s national team manager Bruce Arena has named his 32 player roster for the annual January Camp. The roster is 100% MLS players with three from FC Dallas. Defenders Matt Hedges and Walker Zimmerman, as well as midfielder Kellyn Acosta.

Players will report Jan. 10 to the National Training Center.

Acosta is returning to the team as a midfielder in this year’s camp. He earned four caps last year for the USMNT.

Hedges is getting his first call to the national team since the 2015 January camp where he picked up minutes in a 2-0 win over Panama.

Zimmerman is in line for his first cap with the national side. The 23-year old was a fixture on the youth national teams before being drafted by FCD back in 2013.

The entire 32-player roster comes from MLS, representing 15 different clubs. Since the camp does not fall during a recognized FIFA international window for the release of players, only those who are not in season are available to be selected.

In preparation, the United Staes will begin the 2017 campaign with a friendly against Serbia on Jan. 29 at Qualcomm Stadium in San Diego, Calif. Kickoff for Bruce Arena’s first match back in charge of the U.S. MNT is set for 1 p.m. PT, and will be broadcast live on ESPN2 and UniMas.

Five days later, the MNT will make its first visit to Chattanooga on Feb. 3 when they host regional rival Jamaica. Kickoff in front of an expected capacity crowd of 20,000 at Finley Stadium is set for 7 p.m. ET, and the match will be broadcast live on FS1 and UniMas (simulcast on UDN).

Other notes from the roster: old hand Dax McCarty will winter in LA along with Grapevine native Greg Garza. This could be an historic camp when it comes to Dallas ties. We’ll delve further into that and deeper analysis in the weeks to come.

Below is the full roster from Bruce Arena (heretofore to be referred to as the Grover Cleveland of US National Team coaches):

GOALKEEPERS: David Bingham (San Jose Earthquakes), Stefan Frei (Seattle Sounders), Bill Hamid (D.C. United), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake), Luis Robles (New York Red Bulls).

DEFENDERS: DaMarcus Beasley (free agent), Steve Birnbaum (D.C. United), Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders FC), Greg Garza (Atlanta United), Matt Hedges (FC Dallas), Taylor Kemp (D.C. United), Chad Marshall (Seattle Sounders FC), Keegan Rosenberry (Philadelphia Union), Walker Zimmerman (FC Dallas), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City).

MIDFIELDERS: Kellyn Acosta (FC Dallas), Alejandro Bedoya (Philadelphia Union), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Benny Feilhaber (Sporting Kansas City), Jermaine Jones (Los Angeles Galaxy), Sacha Kljestan (New York Red Bulls), Sebastian Lletget (Los Angeles Galaxy), Kekuta Manneh (Vancouver Whitecaps), Dax McCarty (New York Red Bulls), Darlington Nagbe (Portland Timbers), Chris Pontius (Philadelphia Union), Wil Trapp (Columbus Crew).

FORWARDS: Juan Agudelo (New England Revolution), Jozy Altidore (Toronto FC), Jordan Morris (Seattle Sounders), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes), Gyasi Zardes (Los Angeles Galaxy).