clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

FC Dallas learns CONCACAF Champions League group

Dallas will play a team from Nicaragua and a team from Guatemala in the group stage.

Jean-Yves Ahern-USA TODAY Sports

FC Dallas learned they will play Real Esteli (Nicaragua) and C.D. Suchitepéquez (Guatemala) in Group H in the 2016-17 CONCACAF Champions League after the draw concluded tonight.

It's the second appearance for FCD after competing in the 2011-12 campaign and not making it past the group stage.

The group stage schedule will be revealed in the coming weeks.

Teams play each other twice (home/away) in the group stage and the top team from each group advances to the quarterfinals.

The Group Stage begins play in August and wraps up in October, and the knockout rounds begin in early 2017. Each phase of the knockout rounds consists of a two-leg home-and-away series. The winning team of the 2016-17 CCL will earn a spot in the FIFA Club World Cup in 2017.

The CCL groups are as follows:

Group A: W Connection F.C. (TRI), C.D. Honduras Progreso (HON), Pumas UNAM (MEX)

Group B: C.D. Dragón (SLV), Deportivo Saprissa (CRC), Portland Timbers (USA)

Group C: Central F.C. (TRI), Vancouver Whitecaps (CAN, Sporting Kansas City (USA)

Group D: Don Bosco FC (HAI),  Deportivo Árabe Unido (PAN), CF Monterrey (MEX)

Group E: Police United FC (BLZ), Club Deportivo Olimpia (HON), CF Pachuca (MEX)

Group F: Alianza F.C. (SLV), Antigua FC (GUA), New York Red Bulls (USA)

Group G: Plaza Amador (PAN), Club Sport Herediano (CRC), Tigres UANL (MEX)

Group H: Real Esteli (NCA), C.D. Suchitepéquez (GUA), FC Dallas (USA)

Do you like Dallas' chances of advancing?