clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

FC Dallas protects 11 for 2016 Expansion Draft

No huge shockers in who Oscar Pareja and company are wanting to keep.

MLS: U.S. Open Cup Final-New England Revolution vs FC Dallas Kevin Jairaj-USA TODAY Sports

The wild MLS offseason kicks off in full force today as teams reveal who they are protecting ahead of Tuesday’s Expansion Draft for new clubs Minnesota and Atlanta.

FC Dallas unveiled their 11 protected players.

  1. Kellyn Acosta
  2. Tesho Akindele
  3. Michael Barrios
  4. Mauro Diaz (DP)
  5. Maynor Figueroa
  6. Carlos Gruezo (DP)
  7. Matt Hedges
  8. Ryan Hollingshead
  9. Maxi Urruti
  10. Walker Zimmerman
  11. Victor Ulloa

Those that were also protected through their Homegrown status include:

  • Coy Craft
  • Jesus Ferreira
  • Jesse Gonzalez
  • Aaron Gullien
  • Bryan Reynolds
  • Paxton Pomykal

While Ulloa and Acosta are still technically Homegrown Players for FC Dallas. They are not exempt for this draft since they are on the club’s senior roster. Only supplemental roster players that are HGPs are exempt.

This leaves the following unprotected:

  • Atiba Harris (contract expiring at the end of 2016)
  • Zach Loyd (contract expiring at the end of 2016)
  • Carlos Ruiz (contract expiring at the end of 2016)
  • Moises Hernandez
  • Getterson
  • Audrey David
  • Juan Ortiz
  • Norberto Paparatto
  • Mauro Rosales
  • Carlos Lizarazo
  • Timo Pitter
  • Colin Bonner
  • Chris Seitz

Atlanta and Minnesota will get to select their five players tomorrow at 1 pm CT. Once we have the results of that draft, we will have them posted here for you all. Hopefully no one from FCD gets selected.

What do you make of the 11 that were protected? Do you fear that someone could get picked up from our unprotected list?