clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Three FC Dallas players named to MLS Homegrown Game team

Jerome Miron-USA TODAY Sports

The second annual MLS Homegrown game will feature three FC Dallas players as head coach Landon Donovan named his 22-man squad today that will take on Club America's U-20s next Tuesday night in Colorado.

Of the 22 on the roster, keeper Jesse Gonzalez, midfielder Alejandro Zendejas and forward Coy Craft will represent FC Dallas in the game.

FC Dallas leads Major League Soccer with 3,510 minutes played by Homegrown players Victor Ulloa (1,799), Kellyn Acosta (972), Moises Hernandez (960), Zendejas (133) and Craft (6) this season.

Donovan selected the 22-man roster from a pool of Homegrown Players nominated by all 20 MLS clubs. For those curious about why some players like Victor Ulloa and Kellyn Acosta were not nominated for this game, the team opted to send players that aren't playing as much on a regular basis.

Craft was signed last August by FCD and has made one appearance in 2015.

Gonzalez is an experienced Mexican youth international that helped lead Mexico to the 2015 CONCACAF U-20 championship. He also started each game for Mexico in the U-20 World Cup.

Zendejas became the first Homegrown Player signed from one of the club's youth affiliates, FC Dallas El Paso. Zendejas made his MLS debut in Dallas' 4-1 win over Houston on May 1, and has made four more appearances since.

2015 MLS Homegrown Team Roster

Goalkeepers: Matt Lampson (Columbus Crew SC), Jesse Gonzalez (FC Dallas)

Defenders: Justen Glad (Real Salt Lake), Shane O'Neill (Colorado Rapids), Eric Palmer-Brown (Sporting Kansas City), Jalen Robinson (D.C. United), Oscar Sorto (LA Galaxy), Tyler Turner (Orlando City SC)

Midfielders: Jordan Allen (Real Salt Lake), Jay Chapman (Toronto FC), Sean Davis (New York Red Bulls), Zach Pfeffer (Philadelphia Union), Memo Rodriguez (Houston Dynamo), Dillon Serna (Colorado Rapids), Harry Shipp (Chicago Fire), Ben Swanson (Columbus Crew SC), Russell Teibert (Vancouver Whitecaps FC), Alex Zendejas (FC Dallas)

Forwards: Coy Craft (FC Dallas), Kianz Froese (Vancouver Whitecaps FC), Anthony Jackson-Hamel (Montreal Impact), Tommy Thompson (San Jose Earthquakes)