clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Kyle Bekker and Tesho Akindele make Canada's Gold Cup roster

Two more call ups with likely more on the way for FCD.

Jerome Miron-USA TODAY Sports

The next month of crazy amounts of international call ups is about to get under way for FC Dallas as the final rosters for the 2015 Gold Cup are being announced. Canada has revealed their 23-man roster and FCD fans will see both Kyle Bekker and Tesho Akindele represent the Maple Leafs in the regional tournament.

The team assembles in California on June 28 and will get just over a week to prepare for their tournament opener against El Salvador on July 8. After the El Salvador game, Canada heads to Houston to take on Jamaica on Saturday July 11 before heading up to Toronto to take on Costa Rica in the first ever Gold Cup game in Canada on July 14.

This will mark Akindele's second straight call from the national team. He was apart of the group that helped defeat Dominica a couple weeks ago in a home-and-home series. Akindele had one goal and an assist in the two games.

For those keeping score at home, this will put the two out of three of FCD's July games, with a possibility of them missing all four games if Canada has a long run in the tournament. They will also miss next week's USOC match with Sporting KC as well.

CANADA 23-man roster
GK- Lars Hirschfeld | NOR / Valerenga
GK- Quillan Roberts | CAN / Toronto FC
GK- Kenny Stamatopoulos | SWE / AIK
D- Marcel de Jong | USA / Sporting KC
D- David Edgar | ENG / Birmingham City
D- Andre Hainault | GER / VfR Aalen
D- Dejan Jakovic | JPN / Shimizu S-Pulse
D- Nik Ledgerwood | GER / Energie Cottbus
D- Ashtone Morgan | CAN / Toronto FC
D- Karl W. Ouimette | USA / New York Red Bulls
D- Adam Straith | NOR / Fredrikstad
M- Tesho Akindele | USA / FC Dallas
M- Kyle Bekker | USA / FC Dallas
M- Julian de Guzman | CAN / Ottawa Fury FC
M- Simeon Jackson | ENG / Coventry City
M- Jonathan Osorio | CAN / Toronto FC
M- Pedro Pacheco | POR / Santa Clara
M- Samuel Piette | ESP / Deportivo la Coruña
M- Tosaint Ricketts | ISR / Hapoel Haifa
M- Russell Teibert | CAN / Vancouver Whitecaps FC
M- Maxim Tissot | CAN / Impact de Montréal
F- Marcus Haber | ENG / Crewe Alexandra
F- Cyle Larin | USA / Orlando City SC