clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Alex Zendejas makes US U-17 World Cup Roster

New, comment

FC Dallas will have one more representative on the international stage in 2015.

Jennifer Nicholson-USA TODAY Sports

FC Dallas Homegrown midfielder Alex Zendejas has earned a spot on head coach Richie Williams' U-17 USMNT World Cup squad, not that this is surprising to anyone here who's seen Zendejas play this year. Zendejas will join other notable players including, forward Haji Wright and midfielder Christian Pulisic as the team looks to make a deep run into the tournament.

Pulisic is the undisputed star of this team but I can see Zendejas getting minutes in this tournament and making significant contributions to the Red, White and Blue with his ability to connect passes and maintain possession.

The U-17 USMNT will have two weeks to prepare before their opening match on October 17th against Nigeria. Depending on how far this team goes, this may be the end of Zendejas' first MLS season. The tournament will be hosted by Chile.

Full roster:

GOALKEEPERS (3): Eric Lopez (LA Galaxy II; Westminster, Calif.), William Pulisic (Richmond United; Mechanicsville, Va.), Kevin Silva (Players Development Academy; Bethlehem, Pa.)

DEFENDERS (8): Tyler Adams (New York Red Bulls II; Wappinger Falls, N.Y.),Hugo Arellano (LA Galaxy Academy; Norwalk, Calif.), Danny Barbir (West Bromwich Albion; Allentown, Penn.), Tanner Dieterich (Real Salt Lake Academy; Nashville, Tenn.), John Nelson (Internationals; Medina, Ohio), Matthew Olosunde (New York Red Bulls Academy; Trenton, N.J.), Auston Trusty (Philadelphia Union Academy; Media, Pa.), Alexis Velela (New York Cosmos; San Diego, Calif.)

MIDFIELDERS (5): Eric Calvillo (Real So Cal; Palmdale, Calif.), Luca de la Torre (Fulham F.C. San Diego, Calif.), Thomas McCabe (Players Development Academy; South Orange, N.J.), Christian Pulisic (Borussia Dortmund; Hershey, Pa.), Alejandro Zendejas (FC Dallas; El Paso, Tex.)

FORWARDS (5): Pierre da Silva (Orlando City SC Academy; Port Chester, N.Y.), Joe Gallardo (C.F. Monterrey; San Diego, Calif.), Josh Perez (Unattached; La Habra, Calif.), Brandon Vazquez (Club Tijuana; Chula Vista, Calif.), Haji Wright (New York Cosmos; Los Angeles, Calif.)