clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Fan Voting For 2014 MLS All-Star Game Opens Today

New, comment

Eight FC Dallas players are on the ballot.

Matthew Emmons-USA TODAY Sports

Major League Soccer today launched fan voting for the 2014 AT&T MLS All-Star Game.

The eight FC Dallas players up for nomination (vote here) are goalkeeper Chris Seitz, defender Matt Hedges, midfielders Michel, Mauro Diaz, Hendry Thomas, Je-Vaughn Watson, and forwards Blas Perez and Fabian Castillo.

Media members nominated a total of 152 players to the fan ballot. Fans may vote online HERE through July 11 at 3 p.m. ET and via Twitter from July 2-6. Eleven players - one goalkeeper, three defenders, four midfielders and three forwards - with the highest combined votes will be named to the All-Star Fan XI.

Just like in 2013, the 11th player - a forward - will be determined by the AT&T/EA SPORTSTM "More than a Vote" Challenge. Fans have the opportunity to vote one forward into the 2014 AT&T MLS All-Star Game by scoring goals in EA SPORTS FIFA 14 on the Xbox One, PlayStation®4, Xbox 360® video game and entertainment system, and the PlayStation®3 computer entertainment system. The forward with the most votes - one goal equals one vote - on July 11 will occupy the final forward spot on the All-Star Fan XI.

All-Star head coach Caleb Porter of the Portland Timbers will choose the game day roster and the starting lineup against Bayern Munich on August 6. The match at Providence Park in Portland, Oregon, will be broadcast live on ESPN2, UniMas, and in Canada on TSN and RDS, starting at 9:30 p.m. ET.

A total of 32 All-Stars are named each year, per the collective bargaining agreement. Media, fans, players, the All-Star coach and MLS Commissioner Don Garber all contribute in the All-Star selection process.

Get to voting FC Dallas fans!!

[Note: Every team has maximum of eight players nominated, I was able to participate in the media vote this year. My ballot was identical to the eight listed above.]