clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

2014 US Open Cup Schedule Revealed, FC Dallas To Enter In Fourth Round

New, 6 comments

The 101st edition of the US Open Cup is upon us.

Gene Sweeney Jr.

The competition format for the 2014 US Open Cup is set to be the largest in the tournament's modern era (1995-present) with eight matches kicking off on May 7.

The tournament will feature 80 teams, increasing from 68 last year. FC Dallas and the other 15 US-based MLS clubs will enter in the tournament in the fourth round this year. Games will be played between June 10-18. For those curious about the timing of that, FCD hosts Portland on June 11th before having a break for the World Cup group phase.

Judging by the number of new teams, it is very possible that FC Dallas could end up getting a fairly local challenge in the fourth round from someone line Oklahoma City or San Antonio.

Each MLS team will be matched geographically to play the winner of a specific Third Round pairing. The exact date for each match will be determined by the club selected as the home team from among those dates where the visiting team doesn't have a league game already scheduled. The date selected must allow the visiting team at least two rest days before and after the match date.

The following rounds after that will be determined by geography as well with the final begin on either September 30 or October 1.

2014 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup Participating Teams

Major League Soccer (Division I): All 16 U.S.-based teams, entering in the Fourth Round:

MLS (entering 4th round) NASL (entering 3rd round) USL PRO (entering 2nd round)
Chicago Fire Atlanta Silverbacks Arizona United SC
Chivas USA Carolina RailHawks Charleston Battery
Columbus Crew Fort Lauderdale Strikers Charlotte Eagles
D.C. United Indy Eleven Dayton Dutch Lions
FC Dallas Minnesota United FC Harrisburg City Islanders
Houston Dynamo New York Cosmos LA Galaxy II
LA Galaxy San Antonio Scorpions Orange County Blues
New England Revolution Tampa Bay Rowdies Orlando City SC
New York Red Bulls Oklahoma City Energy
Philadelphia Union Pittsburgh Riverhounds
Portland Timbers Richmond Kickers
Real Salt Lake Rochester Rhinos
San Jose Earthquakes Sacramento Republic
Seattle Sounders FC Wilmington Hammerheads
Sporting KC

To view the rest of the field click here.