clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

FC Dallas to host Generation adidas U-17 Cup Finals

The 2014 tournament showcasing 17 MLS youth clubs and three international opponents to kick off April 14

Major League Soccer and adidas today announced the details for the finals of the 2013-14 Generation adidas U-17 Cup. FC Dallas will host the week-long tournament as part of a three-year deal, at the Toyota Soccer Center at Toyota Stadium in Frisco, Texas. The games kick off April 14 and feature U-17 teams from 17 MLS Clubs and three international clubs, including Chivas de Guadalajara (Mexico), Flamengo (Brazil) and Stoke City (England).

Tournament play began with three regional tournaments (East, Central and West) featuring U-17 teams from all 19 MLS Clubs. Each team competed in two regional events from August 2013 through February 2014. The top three teams in each region advanced to the International Tier of the U-17 Cup finals and have been seeded into three groups:

Group A Group B Group C
New York Red Bulls Real Salt Lake San Jose Earthquakes
Seattle Sounders FC Toronto FC FC Dallas
Colorado Rapids LA Galaxy Philadelphia Union
Flamengo (Brazil) Stoke City (England) Chivas de Guadalajara (Mexico)

The remaining MLS U-17 teams will compete in the national tier of the tournament. Teams include Chicago Fire, Chivas USA, Columbus Crew, D.C. United, Houston Dynamo, Sporting Kansas City, Montreal Impact and Portland Timbers. New England Revolution and Vancouver Whitecaps FC elected not to participate in the finals.

Group games begin on Monday, April 14 and the tournament final is scheduled to be played on Sunday, April 20. Click here for the full schedule of games.