clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Tesho Akindele up for Rookie of the Year as MLS unveils award finalist for 2014

Zach Loyd is up for Humanitarian of the Year as well.

Joe Nicholson-USA TODAY Sports

Major League Soccer released the 2014 award finalist and FC Dallas saw a couple players nominated while a couple potential awards saw no FCD names listed in the three nominees list.

Tesho Akindele is up for the league's Rookie of the Year award against Chicago's Harry Shipp and D.C. United's Steve Birnbaum.

Akindele enjoyed a wonderful rookie season that saw him score seven goals and added three assists. He was also the seventh rookie in league history to score a hat trick.

Zach Loyd is up for the league's Humanitarian of the Year award. He will be going up against Portland's Diego Chara and LA's AJ DeLaGarza.

Sadly, FC Dallas did not see a Coach of the Year nomination for Oscar Pareja or a Comeback Player of the Year nomination for Victor Ulloa. Double bummer there for both of those deserving candidates. I'll admit that they got my votes when I participated in the voting.

The Rookie of the Year award will be announced on November 24, while the Humanitarian award will be announced the following day on November 25.

It should be mentioned that the finalist for each award earned the most votes from three voting groups:

1. Current MLS players

2. MLS clubs (Coaches, technical directors, etc)

3. Media members

It should also be noted that the players and MLS club voting did so before the media, which wrapped up their voting after the Knockout Round in the playoffs. 2014 Major League Soccer Awards Finalists

(Listed in alphabetical order by last name within each award category)

Volkswagen Most Valuable Player Finalists

Robbie Keane (LA Galaxy)
Obafemi Martins (Seattle Sounders FC)
Lee Nguyen (New England Revolution)

AT&T Rookie of the Year Finalists

Tesho Akindele (FC Dallas)
Steven Birnbaum (D.C. United)
Harrison Shipp (Chicago Fire)

Defender of the Year Finalists

Bobby Boswell (D.C. United)
Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy)
Chad Marshall (Seattle Sounders FC)

Coach of the Year Finalists

Gregg Berhalter (Columbus Crew SC)
Ben Olsen (D.C. United)
Sigi Schmid (Seattle Sounders FC)

Comeback Player of the Year Finalists

Charlie Davies (New England Revolution)
Stefan Frei (Seattle Sounders FC)
Rodney Wallace (Portland Timbers)

Allstate Goalkeeper of the Year Finalists

Steve Clark (Columbus Crew SC)
Bill Hamid (D.C. United)
Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)

Newcomer of the Year Finalists

Stefan Ishizaki (LA Galaxy)
Jermaine Jones (New England Revolution)
Pedro Morales (Vancouver Whitecaps FC)

MLS WORKS Humanitarian of the Year Finalists

Diego Chara (Portland Timbers)
AJ DeLaGarza (LA Galaxy)
Zach Loyd (FC Dallas)