clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Manchester United, PSG, Boca Juniors to Dr Pepper Dallas Cup XXXIII

Everyone at Dallas Cup knew that getting Nike on board with the top youth tournament in the country had the potential to be amazing and they've delivered again . In 2010, they brought us both the Mexico and United States U20 teams, 2011 saw Barcelona, Corinthians and Arsenal grace the PHP fields and now in 2012, world superpowers Manchester United, Paris Saint-Germain and Boca Juniors have been confirmed as Gordon Jago Super Group participants.

19-time Barclays Premier League Champions Manchester United return to the Gordon Jago Super Group for the first time since 2006. Their previous appearance brought players like Giuseppe Rossi, Darron Gibson, Ryan Shawcross and Jonny Evans to Dallas Cup.

Paris Saint-Germain, two-time Ligue 1 and UEFA Champions League winners, join the Gordon Jago Super Group for the first time in tournament history. The only major club in Paris, the PSG academy has produced players like Nicolas Anelka and is the current U19 and U17 French academy league champions.

"We are delighted to participate to the XXXIII edition of the Dallas Cup" said Sebastien Wasels of PSG. "It is an honour for Paris Saint-Germain to participate to such a renowned and prestigious tournament in the US. We are grateful for Nike and the Dallas cup organization for their invitation and we look forward to demonstrating the quality of our Academy program during the competition”

Boca Juniors, arguably the most famous club of South America, boast an impressive trophy case with 25 Argentine championships, 6 Copa Libertadores titles and won the 2011 Argentine Primera Division championship on December 4. Their famous academy has produced current Argentine National Team members Carlos Tevez, Nicolas Burdisso, Ever Banega and Fernando Gago.

Dr Pepper Dallas Cup, celebrating its 33rd year in 2012. Dallas Cup contains seven age groups from U13 to U19 level and entertains on average more than 160,000 spectators during the week. Since its inception in 1980, Dallas Cup has played host to teams and referees from over 45 states, 100 countries and 6 continents.

The 33rd edition runs from April 1 to April 8 and the remaining 10 Gordon Jago Super Group teams will be announced in the coming weeks.

Confirmed Gordon Jago Super Group teams at Dr Pepper Dallas Cup XXXIII:

Boca Juniors- Argentina(6-time Copa Libertadores Champions)

Eintracht Frankfurt-Germany(Dallas Cup XXXII Co-Champions)

Everton FC-England(Current Premier League Academy Champions)

Manchester United FC-England(19-time English Premier League Champions)

Paris Saint Germain-France(French U19 & U17 Academy Champions)

Tigres UANL-Mexico(Dallas Cup XXXII Co-Champions)

For further coverage of Dallas Cup follow Big D Soccer on Twitter and Like us on Facebook