Six FC Dallas Players Nominated For MLS All-Star Voting


A couple snubs from the league leaders on the ballot.

It is that time of the year again. The ballots for the 2013 MLS All-Star Game is out and there are six FC Dallas players nominated.

Those nominated by a "select media panel" were Raul Fernandez, Michel, Jackson, Kenny Cooper, Blas Perez and David Ferreira.

Voting and how it works

I urge you all to go vote on these six right away, the voting can be done here. Now MLS is doing things a tad different this year. Along with the usual ballot vote, Twitter vote and text message vote, the league is also adding in innovative integration of game play on EA SPORT FIFA Soccer 13 Ultimate Team, into the fan voting process.Fans can choose from a pool of 115 players, who were nominated by members of the media.

The 10 players with the highest combined votes from the three traditional voting methods will be named to the All-Star Fan XI.

The 11th player - a forward - will be decided after the general voting window closes on July 2, as part of what is called the AT&T MLS All-Star "In the Game" Challenge. Among remaining forwards on the ballot, the player with whom fans score the most goals in EA SPORTS FIFA Soccer 13 Ultimate Team from July 3-July 10 will be named to the Fan XI.

The first 10 players voted to the Fan XI will be announced on Sunday, July 7, on ESPN during halftime of the Chicago Fire-Sporting Kansas City match that kicks off at 3 p.m. ET. The AT&T MLS All-Star "In the Game" Forward will be unveiled on July 11, after the play-in period finishes.

How the rest of the roster is filled out

The rest of the MLS All-Star team will be selected by the coach, Sporting KC's Peter Vermes, and MLS Commissioner Don Garber, who is allotted two Commissioner picks each year.

Vermes will select the gameday roster and starting XI for the July 31 match at Sporting Park in Kansas City (9 p.m. ET | ESPN2 and Unimas in the US | TSN and RDS in Canada).

The final list of 32 All-Stars (four goalkeepers, eight defenders, 13 midfielders and seven forwards) will be announced on on July 31.

And yes the snubs from FC Dallas

I know many of you are thinking, where the hell is George John or Matt Hedges from this list? No Zach Loyd or Jair Benitez? No Andrew Jacobson? Oh come on! Well, there is a select group of media members that vote on the six players that get nominated. It is a lame way of doing things if you ask me as someone always gets left out.

But instead of moaning and whining a lot about the snubs, let's get out and get for those who did. It would be great to see a few FC Dallas players in Kansas City later this summer take on Roma.

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Big D Soccer

You must be a member of Big D Soccer to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Big D Soccer. You should read them.

Join Big D Soccer

You must be a member of Big D Soccer to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Big D Soccer. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.