Jerome Miron-USA TODAY Sports
PRO states the non-call was good on the goal.
The Hand (or Arm) of Coop stands!
PRO or Professional Referee Organization, the group that handles Major League Soccer's referees released a statement regarding the non-call on Kenny Cooper's late game-winner last Sunday against the Houston Dynamo. The FC Dallas striker took a floating ball from Michel in the 90th minute off his arm before hammering it into the back of the net.
There has been a lot of discussion this past weekend surrounding the goal in the 90th minute of the FC Dallas vs. Houston Dynamo match.
This conversation centers around the fact that the ball touches an FC Dallas attacker's hand prior to entering the goal.
When we look at the Laws of the Game we see that Law 12 states: "Handling the ball involves a deliberate act of a player making contact with the ball with his hand or arm. The referee must take the following into consideration; the movement of the hand towards the ball (not the ball towards the hand)".
As you can see by the video replay, the FC Dallas forward is concentrating on the service from his teammate while all the time focusing on trying to head the ball. His arm and hand are in a natural position and he does not make a deliberate movement to contact the ball. Thus a foul for handling the ball was not called.
Interestingly enough, no Dynamo player was calling for a handball after the goal was scored.
Here is the replay yet again in all of it's glory.