Two more Dallas Cup Super Group Teams Announced

Michael Regan

Brazilian flair coming back to Dallas in 2013

One of the great moments in Dallas Cup history came last year when Brazilian underdogs Coritiba FC defeated Manchester United in a pulsating championship game. After losing their opening match to Everton, the Brazilians recovered to win their next two matches, sneaking into the semifinals. In the semis, they beat Eintracht Frankfurt before the big upset of United that actually created a lot of news in Brazil.

They're coming back next year for Dallas Cup 2013 to defend their title.

Another Brazilian team will be joining them as Rio giants Fluminense will be making their first ever trip to Dallas Cup. Brazilian teams have won seven out of the last 12 DC Super Group championships and next year it looks like the Brazilians could once again be ruling.

Press Release:

An unmistakable joy of Dallas Cup year in and year out is the flair that Brazilians bring to the tournament, having won seven of the last 12 Gordon Jago Super Group championships. Dr Pepper Dallas Cup is pleased to announce the addition of two Brazilian clubs to the U19 Gordon Jago Super Group at Dallas Cup XXXIV.

Coritiba returns to Dr Pepper Dallas Cup as the defending Super Group champions having defeated Manchester United in a thrilling final after a Cinderella run to the championship game.

Three-time Brasileiro champions Fluminense FC have a rich history of success. Based in Rio de Janeiro, they boast a fan base in the millions with their senior squad currently sitting atop the Brazilian 2012 first division standings.

Dallas Cup Executive Director Gordon Jago "To have two top Brazilian teams in Dr Pepper Dallas Cup XXXIV attempting to add a 12th Championship since the Super Group inception in 1990, it will be a great attraction for the Dallas soccer fans next March. With last year’s Super Group Champions Coritiba FC and 1st time visitor Fluminense FC, both teams look to join such an outstanding list of Brazilian Teams in winning our Top Boat & Ball Trophy. We are certain of many exciting game in Dr Pepper Dallas Cup XXXIV."

2012 - Coritiba FC, Brazil

2010 - Cruzeiro Esporte Clube, Brazi

2009 - Sao Paulo FC, Brazil

2007 - Sao Paulo FC, Brazil

2005 - Clube Atletico Paranaense, Brazil

2004 - Clube Atletico Paranaense, Brazil

2000 - SC Corinthians, Brazil

1997 - EC Vitoria, Brazil

1996 - EC Vitoria, Brazil

1995 - Sao Paulo FC, Brazil

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Big D Soccer

You must be a member of Big D Soccer to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Big D Soccer. You should read them.

Join Big D Soccer

You must be a member of Big D Soccer to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Big D Soccer. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.